Behind the scenes

Legal support for film and TV productions covers all aspects from the acquisition of the story rights through to sales and licensing agreements. It comprises production funding by film subsidies and private investors, the legal form as an own production, production to order or co-production, as well as the numerous production-related contracts – from the script to editing, taking into consideration not only issues with copyright relevance, but in particular also such relating to labour law and social security law.

We assist you during domestic and international film productions and their exploitation, with legal competence and long-standing experience – behind the scenes in the structuring of production and the design of contracts, as well as before the courts when it comes to the enforcement and defence of your rights.

From our practical work:

  • Representation and consultancy services for a private investor relating to a state-subsidised Australian movie production; examination and negotiation of the inter-party agreement, of the safeguarding of funding (completion bond) and the distribution and licence agreements for Europe.
  • Films from A to Z: Consultancy services for the producer in charge during the production of a three-part movie. Compilation of all contracts from A to Z, for the acquisition of the story, co-production, cast, subsidies, domestic and international sales, including radio play and stage.
  • Representation of a film producer in litigation regarding the intended screen adaptation of a novel written at the beginning of the 20th century by a US author; lawsuit aimed at the determination that copyright protection for the novel in Germany has expired.

Your contacts:

Dr. Matthias Lausen, lausen@lausen.com
Dr. Richard Hahn, hahn@lausen.com
Dr. Thomas Glückstein, glueckstein@lausen.com

TV FFS 2016

Hinter den Kulissen

Die rechtliche Betreuung von Film- und Fernsehproduktionen reicht vom Einkauf der Stoffrechte bis hin zu den Vertriebs- und Lizenzverträgen. Sie umfasst die Finanzierung der Produktion durch Filmförderung und private Investoren, die rechtliche Ausgestaltung als Eigen-, Auftrags- oder Koproduktion und die vielen produktionsbegleitenden Verträge vom Drehbuch bis hin zum Schnitt, unter Berücksichtigung nicht nur urheberrechtlicher, sondern vor allem auch arbeits- und sozialversicherungsrechtlicher Besonderheiten.

Wir begleiten Sie bei nationalen und internationalen Filmproduktionen und deren Verwertung mit rechtlicher Kompetenz und langjähriger Erfahrung – hinter den Kulissen bei der Strukturierung der Produktion und der Gestaltung der Verträge sowie vor Gericht bei der Durchsetzung und Verteidigung Ihrer Rechte.

Aus unserer Praxis:

  • Vertretung und Beratung eines privaten Investors bei einer staatlich geförderten australischen Kinofilmproduktion; Prüfung und Verhandlung des Inter-Party Agreements, der Sicherung der Finanzierung (Completion Bond) und der Distributions- und Lizenzverträge für Europa.
  • Film von A bis Z: Beratung des federführenden Produzenten bei der Produktion eines Kinodreiteilers. Erstellung sämtlicher Verträge von A bis Z, für den Stofferwerb, die Koproduktion, Mitwirkende, Förderung, Vertrieb national und international bis zum Hörspiel und der Bühne.
  • Gerichtliche Vertretung eines Filmproduzenten bei der geplanten Verfilmung des Romans eines US-amerikanischen Autors, der Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts geschrieben wurde; Klage auf Feststellung, dass der urheberrechtliche Schutz des Romans in Deutschland zwischenzeitlich abgelaufen ist.

 

Ihre Ansprechpartner:

Dr. Matthias Lausen
Dr. Richard Hahn
Dr. Thomas Glückstein