Technical expertise and legal “tricks of the trade”

A multitude of legal issues may arise during the development and sale of software and other IT products: For instance, it is necessary to prepare and negotiate contracts with programmers and other persons involved in the development, to clarify the admissibility of using existing programme components, and to take into consideration requirements set by the operators of sales platforms, if any (in particular in the context of the marketing of apps). Issues of software maintenance and support (service level agreements) also require clarification.

With a great deal of technical expertise and creative solutions, we will support you in the design and negotiation of all types of contracts from the software and IT sector. We will be at your side when you take decisions on a suitable sales strategy and with regard to marketing issues, and will also defend your rights before the courts, if necessary.

From our practical work:

  • Consultancy services for a company from the software development industry with regard to the requirements for the use of open source software under various licensing models.
  • Representation before the courts of a software company against the accusation of having infringed upon utility patents, within the framework of independent proceedings for the taking of evidence and of injunction proceedings regarding the viewing of the source code, in close cooperation with patent lawyers.
  • Assessment and negotiation of contracts on the sale of applications (apps) for mobile devices via various online platforms (Apple AppStore, Andriod Market etc.)

Your contacts:
Dr. Martin Schippan, schippan@lausen.com
Bernhard Buchner, buchner@lausen.com

Technischer Sachverstand und juristische Kniffe

Bei der Entwicklung und dem Vertrieb von Software und anderen IT-Produkten stellt sich eine Vielzahl rechtlicher Fragen. So gilt es beispielsweise Verträge mit Programmierern und anderen an der Entwicklung beteiligten Personen zu erstellen und zu verhandeln, die Zulässigkeit der Verwendung von existierenden Programmbestandteilen zu klären und etwaige Vorgaben von Betreibern von Vertriebsplattformen zu berücksichtigen (vor allem bei der Vermarktung von Apps). Auch Fragen der Softwarepflege und des Supports (Service-Level-Agreements) bedürfen der Klärung.

Mit viel technischem Verständnis und kreativen Lösungen unterstützen wir Sie bei der Ausgestaltung und Verhandlung aller Arten von Verträgen aus dem Software- und IT-Bereich. Auch bei der Entscheidung für eine geeignete Vertriebsstrategie und bei Vermarktungsfragen stehen wir an Ihrer Seite und verteidigen Ihre Rechte bei Bedarf auch vor Gericht.

Aus unserer Praxis:

  • Beratung eines Unternehmens aus dem Bereich der Softwareentwicklung im Hinblick auf die Anforderungen an den Einsatz von Open-Source-Software unter verschiedenen Lizenzmodellen.
  • Gerichtliche Vertretung eines Softwareunternehmens gegen den Vorwurf der Verletzung von Gebrauchsmustern in selbständigen Beweisverfahren und einstweiligen Verfügungsverfahren zur Besichtigung des Quellcodes in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Patentanwälten.
  • Prüfung und Verhandlung von Verträgen zum Vertrieb von Applikationen (Apps) für mobile Endgeräte über diverse Online-Plattformen (Apple AppStore, Android Market usw.)

 

Ihre Ansprechpartner:

Dr. Martin Schippan
Bernhard Buchner